Nigerian League

CHAMPIONS! Enyimba outclass Akwa United, win eighth NPFL title

Photo courtesy LMC Media


Enyimba of Aba have won a record eighth Nigeria Professional Football League title after defeating Akwa United 3-0 in the title playoffs at the Agege Stadium, Lagos on Wednesday.

With the win, the two-time African champions took their Super Six playoffs points to an unassailable 12, having won four of their five matches.

Reuben Bala, Stanley Dimgba and Abdulrahman Bashir got the goals as Enyimba eased past the Uyo side, who were also in contention for the title up until the final matchday.

Bala finished off a good move in the 43rd minute to set Enyimba off on their way, while Dimgba headed the Peoples Elephant into a two-goal lead on the hour mark.

Bashir made sure of the points and the title with a long-range finish in the 89th minute.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Sports news presented in clean, clear language. Nigerian and global breaking sports news, features, interviews redefined

Copyright © 2015

To Top